The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine was awarded jointly to Harvey J. Alter, Michael Houghton and Charles M. Rice on Monday for the discovery of hepatitis C virus, a breakthrough the Nobel Assembly said had “made possible blood tests and new medicines that have saved millions of lives.”

The Nobel Assembly announced the prize at the Karolinska Institute in Stockholm.

“For the first time in history, the disease can now be cured, raising hopes of eradicating hepatitis C virus from the world population,” the committee said in a statement.

Who are the winners?

Mr. Alter, an American, is a medical researcher for the National Institutes of Health in Maryland.

Mr. Houghton, born in Britain, is the Li Ka Shing professor of virology at the University of Alberta, Canada. He is also director of the Li Ka Shing Applied Virology Institute at the university.

Mr. Rice, born in Sacramento, is a professor at Rockefeller University in New York. From 2001 to 2018, he was the scientific and executive director at the Center for the Study of Hepatitis C at the university.

Who won the 2019 Nobel Prize for Medicine?

The prize was awarded to William G. Kaelin Jr., Peter J. Ratcliffe and Gregg L. Semenza for discoveries about how cells sense and adapt to oxygen availability. These cellular mechanisms control, for example, adaptation to high altitudes and how cancer cells manage to hijack oxygen.

Nobel Prize Winning Scientists Reflect on Nearly Sleeping Through the Life-Changing Call

How eight winners got the word.

When will the other Nobel Prizes be announced?

The Nobel Prize in Physics will be announced on Tuesday in Sweden. Read about last year’s winners, James Peebles, Michel Mayor and Didier Queloz.

The Nobel Prize in Chemistry will be announced on Wednesday in Sweden. Read about last year’s winners, John B. Goodenough, M. Stanley Whittingham and Akira Yoshino.

The Nobel Prize in Literature will be announced on Thursday in Sweden. The prizes for both 2018 and 2019 were announced last year after a postponement of the 2018 prize. That occurred after the husband of an academy member was accused, and ultimately convicted, of rape — a crisis that led to the departure of several board members and required the intervention of the King of Sweden.

The Nobel Peace Prize will be announced on Friday in Norway. Read about last year’s winner, Prime Minister Abiy Ahmed of Ethiopia.

The Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Science will be announced next Monday in Sweden. Read about last year’s winners, Abhijit Banerjee, Esther Duflo and Michael Kremer.

[Like the Science Times page on Facebook. | Sign up for the Science Times newsletter.]

Source: Read Full Article